The Road To Roo Announces 2016 Lineup

Road To Bonnaroo 2016

We already told you that the beloved Road To Bonnaroo is over, but local bands still have a shot at playing Bonnaroo in the new and similarly named “The Road To Roo” competition. This year, the events will take place in multiple venues across Nashville, and will ultimately result in one winner from Nashville (unlike three winners from previous years) to earn a coveted spot at Bonnaroo.

This morning, host Lightning 100 announced the 16 bands selected to compete in this year’s competition, and they include a bunch of blog faves, including: Kid FreudOJR, Daphne & The Mystery Machines, Stagolee, Omega Swan, Cosmic Coast, CareyCAPPA, Shane Piasecki, Trenton, KiND, BRUNS, The Cold Stares, Heavy Sole, and Jess Nolan.

The venues have also been announced, and the first two preliminary rounds will take place on March 3 and March 10 at Acme Feed & Seed at 7 p.m.  Eight bands will play each night (though the specific lineups for each night have not yet been announced), and four winners will be selected from each night.

The eight advancing winners will play the Nashville semifinals on March 16 at Exit/In at 8 p.m. and on March 22 at The Basement East at 8 p.m., and four winners from those events will perform in the Nashville finals at 3rd & Lindsley on March 31 at 8 p.m.  The Nashville winner will then face off with other Tennessee regional winners in the State Finals at Mercy Lounge on April 4 at 9 p.m.

Some details are still a bit fuzzy on this one, but we understand there will still be a crowd voting element, so mark you calendars to support your local fave bands.  We’ll keep you in the loop as details progress on this one, and congrats to the 16 bands that made the first cut.

More from Road to Roo | Site

Have your say