Becca Mancari Premieres “Arizona Fire” Video on the Heels of Debut LP | See Her Nov. 12 at 3rd & Lindsley


Earlier this month, on Oct. 6, local indie country/folk rock singer-songwriter and longtime site fave Becca Mancari released her debut full-length, Good Woman, a dreamy, road-worn, forlorn, and confessional culmination and documentation of several years of travel and transformative life experiences, funneled into an absolutely beautiful and earnest masterpiece, a triumph of a debut that should be on everyone’s short-list for album of the year.

Since we told you about first single “Arizona Fire,” as well as Mancari’s surprise supergroup Bermuda Triangle, along with Alabama Shakes’ Brittany Howard and singer-songwriter Jesse Lafser, who’ve since gone on to release two tracks of their own and embark on a small tour, Becca debuted two fantastic music videos, for breezy single “Summertime Mama” and a gorgeous spot for powerful song “Golden.” Now, with Good Woman finally out in the world and receiving universal acclaim, Mancari has unveiled yet another new video, this time for deeply personal opening tune and lead single “Arizona Fire.” 

With sweeping southwest scenery, and lingering, shots of narrative throughway, and thoughtful closeups of Mancari singing, the video perfectly captures the mood of the track, and will leave you wanting to watch it over and over. Hit play below, and be sure to check out Good Woman ASAP if you haven’t yet heard it. You can also catch Becca live Sunday, Nov. 12 at 3rd and Lindsley, where she’ll host a hometown release show with support from Sun SeekerGood Buddy, and some “very special guests.” Grab tickets right here.

Continue Reading→

Purity Ring to Play Marathon Music Works Dec. 11


It’s been almost two years since Canadian synthpop duo Purity Ring last played Nashville, then celebrating the release of their long awaited and highly anticipated sophomore album, Another Eternity, which recaptured the buzz and magic of their hypnotic, near-perfect 2012 debut, Shrines, with wondrous bliss. Though there’s no word yet on exactly when we can expect LP3, the duo recently unveiled a brand new single, “Asido,” as a gift to fans in celebration of their debut’s fifth anniversary, along with a great accompanying animated video, written and directed by singer Megan James and animated by longtime collaborator Tallulah Fontaine.

This fall, the band will hit the road for a high-profile supporting slot on Katy Perry’s Witness tour, keeping them busy throughout November and December. While tomorrow’s Bridgestone Arena stop is not part of their leg, Nashville lucked out thanks to geography and timing, as the duo have just announced a headlining show Dec. 11 at Marathon Music Works, an off date between arena stops in Cleveland and Atlanta. They blew us away last time in Music City, and we’re sure this all ages show will be no exception, so grab your tickets when they go on sale Friday, Oct. 20 at 10 a.m. CDT right here (or snag pre-sale tickets one day earlier)!

Continue Reading→

[TICKET GIVEAWAY] Primus | Oct. 24 @ War Memorial Auditorium


We first told you about the upcoming Nashville return for Primus, when they announced their recently released album, The Desaturating Seven.  The eclectic rockers are back for their first headlining date since 2015, bringing their intensely entertaining live show to War Memorial Auditorium on Oct. 24, and with the original lineup back together for the first time in decades, this show is sure to be extra special.  Tickets are still available starting at $35, but we’re also happy to announce that we’re giving away a pair of tickets to one lucky fan!  Head below to find out more about the show, and enter for a chance to win.

Enter To Win Tickets→

Wild West Comedy Festival Becomes Nashville Comedy Festival, Plots Dates and Initial Lineup for 2018


Founded in 2013, annual week-long, city-wide, multi-venue comedy fest the Wild West Comedy Festival, co-produced by Vince Vaughn’s Wild West Productions, quickly became the premiere yearly event for Music City residents who love to laugh, returning each subsequent spring with performers like Hannibal Buress, Tig Notaro, Lewis Black, The Lonely Island, Aziz Ansari, Chelsea Handler, Marc Maron, Seth Meyers, Trevor Noah, Kevin Smith, Maria Bamford, Judd Apatow, Pete Holmes, Kumail Nanjiani, Patton Oswalt, Doug Benson, Adam Sandler, and tons more.

In a bit of shakeup, what was the WWCF has been replaced by a spiritual successor, the near-identical Nashville Comedy Festival, for what would be a fifth season, and inaugural year under a new name, returning in the identical timeframe of April 16-22, 2018.  According to The Tennessean, local co-producer Outback Concerts are still helming the event. While the cause of the rebrand is unclear as of writing, no mention of Wild West Productions and the new nomenclature would seem to suggest that the new event will now operate without them.

For all intents and purposes, it appears you can expect the same fest, with separately ticketed shows spread across town at conventional and unconventional spaces for comedy. So far, only a handful of performers have been announced: “Weird Al” Yankovic at War Memorial Auditorium on April 17, The Comedy Get Down featuring Cedric ‘The Entertainer,’ Eddie GriffinD.L. Hughley, and George Lopez at Bridgestone Arena on April 21, Tim Allen at The Ryman Auditorium on April 21, and Jeff Dunham at Bridgestone Arena on April 20 (tickets all available here). Expect smaller (and often more alternative and subversive) performers to be announced in coming months, with shows in past years set at spaces like Zanie’s, TPAC, Third Man Records, Exit/In, and more.

More from Nashville Comedy Festival | Site | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Henry Rollins to Bring Photo, Story-Driven ‘Travel Slideshow’ Tour to Marathon Music Works Jan. 12


Legendary punk singer, writer, actor, and activist (not to mention accomplished journalist, photographer, comedian, TV, radio, and podcast host…) Henry Rollins is embarking on a yet another unconventional tour early next year, which, like his spoken word trek last fall, brings him back to Marathon Music Works for a Jan. 12 live engagement. Called the Travel Slideshow, ever the insatiably curious world traveler, both as a performer and as an individual, Rollins’ appearance is billed as “an intimate evening… as he tells the stories behind the photos he’s taken, from Baghdad to Timbuktu,” where he will “present a special performance drawing on experiences and his vast archive of photographs,”  including “stories from travel all over the world, including the Middle East, Africa, Central Asia, South America and Antarctica.”

While hardcore Black Flag or Rollins Band fans who aren’t so dialed in to Henry’s more recent activities might be confused to find that this performance is not centered around music, the smart and multi-faceted Rollins is an unbelievably engaging, fascinating, and charismatic figure, and one whose endless stories and life experiences are unique, insightful, and just as entertaining as hearing him perform his classic hits. Every non-musical run in recent years has seemingly featured a different focal point (politics, storytelling, and now photography), meaning each outing is a fresh and unique experience, and one that Rollins fans and newcomers alike surely won’t want to miss. Tickets are available here, and all are seated. Watch an announcement video from the man himself below!

Continue Reading→