Watch Cage the Elephant Cover Daft Punk’s “Instant Crush”

Cage-the-Elephant 2017-620

Local rockers Cage the Elephant are gearing up to release a new stripped down, career spanning, live album, Unpeeled, this Friday, July 28, and have been sprinkling videos from the live performances to promote the record.  The band previously released spots for “Rubber Ball” (from Thank You, Happy Birthday) and  a cover of “Whole Wild World” (Reckless Eric / Bahamas). Cage returned today with a live video from their stripped down show at The Ryman back in April where they covered the Daft Punk and Julian Casablancas smash “Instant Crush.”

Unpeeled, which was recorded live during their mini-run of shows in Los Angeles, Washington D.C., Knoxville, and Nashville, is a bit of a surprise turn for Cage.  While they are very well-known for their high energy live show, they chose to strip back the layers of the songs for this recording with a string section and additional percussion to open the songs up.  As frontman Matt Schultz said of the inspiration for the album, “Many times you’re adding sonic layers looking for something to hide behind, and what you don’t realize is that that vulnerability and that nakedness might be the most compelling and interesting thing about the song.”

Unpeeled is officially out this Friday, July 28.  Head below for the full track listing and the live video from The Ryman, of Cage The Elephant’s fantastic take on “Instant Crush.”

More from Cage The Elephant | Site | Facebook | Twitter | Spotify

Unpeeled Track Listing:
1. Cry Baby
2. Whole Wide World
3. Sweetie Little Jean
4. Spiderhead
5. Take It Or Leave It
6. Too Late To Say Goodbye
7. Punchin’ Bag
8. Shake Me Down
9. Telescope
10. Instant Crush
11. Trouble
12. Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked
13. Rubber Ball
14. Aberdeen
15. Golden Brown
16. Cold Cold Cold
17. How Are You True
18. Come A Little Closer
19. Back Against The Wall
20. Cigarette Daydreams
21. Right Before My Eyes

Have your say