Jack White Announces Career-Spanning Acoustic Album, Debuts Unreleased White Stripes Track


The Jack White juggernaut has slowed down in the past year, after the Nashville based rocker announced that he would be “taking a break from performing live for a long period of time.” However, that hasn’t slowed White from helping to launch a record player into space, releasing a documentary on the recording industry, and, now, apparently cleaning out his vault of demos, he is set to release a 26 track compilation of acoustic recordings from The White Stripes, The Raconteurs, and his solo material.

The first offering to surface from the Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016, which will release Sept. 9 via Third Man Records/Columbia, is a White Stripes track titled “City Lights,” which was originally written for 2005’s Get Behind Me Satan.  All of the songs have been remastered on the album, and you can see the full track listing below.  Pre-orders for both the physical and digital albums are available now, and include an instant download of “City Lights,” which you can stream below.

Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016

1 Sugar Never Tasted So Good
2 Apple Blossom (Remixed)
3 I’m Bound To Pack It Up (Remixed)
4 Hotel Yorba
5 We’re Going To Be Friends
6 You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket
7 Well It’s True That We Love One Another
8 Never Far Away

9 Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)
10 White Moon
11 As Ugly As I Seem
12 City Lights (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)
13 Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap
14 Effect & Cause

15 Love Is The Truth (Acoustic Mix)
16 Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)
17 Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)
18 Love Interruption
19 On And On And On
20 Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)

21 Blunderbuss
22 Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)
23 I Guess I Should Go To Sleep (Alternate Mix)
24 Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)
25 Entitlement
26 Want And Able

More from Jack White | Site | Facebook | Spotify

Have your say