The Darkness to Play War Memorial Auditorium April 23

TheDarkness-620

If you haven’t been keeping up with British hard rock/glam metal act The Darkness since their “I Believe in a Thing Called Love” fueled breakout success in the early ’00s, here’s the cliff notes version. Following their smash 2003 debut, Permission to Land, on which that unescapable single appeared, the group dropped a less-buzzed about sophomore effort, before vocalist Justin Hawkins departed in ’06, breaking up the band and causing them to split into two new projects, Stone Gods and Hot Leg. In early 2011, the original lineup reconvened (they’ve since gone through a few drummers, recently landing with Rufus Tiger Taylor, son of Queen’s Roger Taylor), embarking on a comeback tour and unleashing a bombastic new album, Hot Cakes. Last year, The Darkness released Last of Our Kind, marking a less nostalgic and more timeless hard rock shift, perhaps their best effort since the debut, and are continuing to tour in support, sticking true to their roots as one of the last bastions of real rock and roll. For the first time in four years, the rockers are set to make their way to Nashville, for an April 23 performance at War Memorial Auditorium, as part of a stateside run before they begin work on a new album. Tickets go on sale Friday, Feb. 26 at 10 a.m. CST, and you can check out a full list of dates below. Don’t miss out!


More from The Darkness | Site | Facebook | Twitter | Spotify

Friday April 8 – Santa Cruz, CA The Catalyst
Sunday April 10 – San Diego, CA House of Blues
Tuesday April 12 – Los Angeles, CA The Belasco Theatre
Wednesday April 13 – Riverside, CA Riverside Municipal Auditorium
Friday April 15 – Las Vegas, NV House of Blues
Saturday April 16 – Scottsdale, AZ Livewire
Sunday April 17 – Tucson, AZ The Rialto Theatre
Tuesday April 19 – Houston, TX House of Blues
Wednesday April 20 – Dallas, TX House of Blues
Thursday April 21 – New Orleans, LA House of Blues
Saturday April 23 – Nashville, TN War Memorial Auditorium
Sunday April 24 – Cleveland, OH House of Blues
Tuesday April 26 – Cincinnati, OH Bogart’s
Wednesday April 27 – Chicago, IL House of Blues
Friday April 29 – Indianapolis, IN Deluxe @ Old National Center
Saturday April 30 – Baltimore, MD Baltimore Sound Stage
Monday May 2 – New York City, NY Irving Plaza
Tuesday May 3 – Buffalo, NY Waiting Room
Wednesday May 4 – Boston, Ma Paradise Rock Club

Have your say