Third Man Records to Release Tarantino’s ‘Hateful Eight’ Soundtrack on Vinyl, feat. The White Stripes


Modern cinematic auteur and film revivalist Quentin Tarantino is prepping to release his eighth feature, an ensemble, American Western, called The Hateful Eight, beginning with an unprecedented, nearly 100 screen 70 mm, Ultra Panavision 70 rollout on Christmas  Day (that’s film nerd speak for a super wide, super rich, analog format that hasn’t been used for a feature film in 50 years, and one no more than a dozen theaters have embraced in recent decades; don’t worry though, it’ll open wide in digital theaters Jan. 8).

Obsessive about quality and providing a perfect experience, it should, perhaps, come as no surprise to hear that Tarantino has entrusted local label Third Man Records with the U.S. vinyl release of the film’s soundtrack. Though a “limited edition” version will arrive at a later date, the standard, 2xLP 180 gram edition will arrive Dec. 18, containing two oversized posters and a 12-page booklet with stills from the movie. In addition to several new compositions from famed Western composer Ennio Morricone, the lengthy release features what appear to be numerous dialogue samples from the film, as well as cuts by Roy Orbison and Third Man label boss Jack White’s own The White Stripes.

You can pre-order The Hateful Eight Soundtrack from Third Man right here, and check out the artwork and track list below!


Side A
1. L’ Ultima Diligenza di Red Rock (versione integrale) by Ennio Morricone
2. Overture by Ennio Morricone
3. “Major Warren Meet Daisy Domergue” by Kurt Russell, Samuel L. Jackson, and Jennifer Jason Leigh
Written by Quentin Tarantino
4. Narratore Letterario by Ennio Morricone
5. Apple Blossom by The White Stripes
6. “Frontier Justice” by Tim Roth and Kurt Russell
Written by Quentin Tarantino
7. L’Ultima Diligenza di Red Rock #2 by Ennio Morricone

Side B
8. Neve (versione integrale) by Ennio Morricone
9. “This Here Is Daisy Domergue” by Kurt Russell and Michael Madsen
Written by Quentin Tarantino
10. Sei Cavalli by Ennio Morricone
11. Raggi di Sole Sulla Montagna by Ennio Morricone
12. “Son of the Bloody Nigger Killer of Baton Rouge” by Walton Goggins, Bruce Dern, and Samuel L. Jackson
Written by Quentin Tarantino

Side C
13. Jim Jones at Botany Bay by Jennifer Jason Leigh featuring Kurt Russell
Quentin Tarantino
14. Neve #2 by Ennio Morricone
15. “Uncle Charlie’s Stew” by Samuel L. Jackson, Demian Bichir, and Walton Goggins
Written by Quentin Tarantino
16. I Quattro Passeggeri by Ennio Morricone
17. La Musica Prima del Massacro by Ennio Morricone
18. L’Inferno Bianco (synth) by Ennio Morricone
19. The Suggestive Oswaldo Mobray by Tim Roth, Walton Goggins, and Kurt Russell
Written by Quentin Tarantino

Side D
20. Now You’re All Alone by David Hess
21. Sangue e Neve by Ennio Morricone
22. L’Inferno Bianco (ottoni) by Ennio Morricone
23. Neve #3 by Ennio Morricone
24. Daisy’s Speech by Walton Goggins, Jennifer Jason Leigh and Michael Madsen
Written by Quentin Tarantino
25. La Lettera di Lincoln (strumentale) by Ennio Morricone
26. La Lettera di Lincoln (con dialogo) by Ennio Morricone and Walton Goggins
Letter Written by Samuel L Jackson
27. There Won’t Be Many Coming Home by Roy Orbison
28. La Puntura Della Morte by Ennio Morricone

More from Third Man Records | Site | Facebook | Twitter

Have your say