2015 Americana Music Association Honors & Awards Nominees Announced

Americana Music Association

The Americana Music Association announced the nominations for the 2015 Americana Honors & Awards during a press conference held last week at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum. 2014’s Duo/Group of the Year, The Milk Carton Kids, hosted the event and revealed the nominees of the six categories – Album, Artist, Duo/Group, Emerging Artist, Instrumentalist, and Song.  As we told you earlier, the awards show, which kicks off the Americana Music Festival (September 15-20), returns to The Ryman Auditorium on September 16. The nomination event also featured acoustic performances from The Milk Carton Kids, Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn, and John Hiatt. New Artist Nominee Nikki Lane closed out the event with a high energy, full band performance of “Right Time.” Lucinda Williams, Shakey Graves and Sturgill Simpson lead the nominations with three each, and you can find a full list of nominees below. You can also watch the press conference, which was streamed live by our friends at Music City Roots.

2015 Americana Honors & Awards Nominees

Album of the Year (Award goes to Artist and Producer)
And The War Came – Shakey Graves; Produced by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Chris Boosahda
Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone – Lucinda Williams; Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz
Metamodern Sounds In Country Music – Sturgill Simpson; Produced by Dave Cobb
The Way I’m Livin’ – Lee Ann Womack; Produced by Frank Liddell
Tomorrow Is My Turn – Rhiannon Giddens; Produced by T-Bone Burnett

Artist of the Year
Rhiannon Giddens
Jason Isbell
Sturgill Simpson
Lucinda Williams
Lee Ann Womack

Duo/Group of the Year
Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn
The Lone Bellow
The Mavericks
Punch Brothers
Shovels & Rope

Emerging Artist of the Year
First Aid Kit
Nikki Lane
Doug Seegers
Shakey Graves

Instrumentalist of the Year
Hubby Jenkins
Laur Joamets
Greg Leisz
John Leventhal
Stuart Mathis

Song of the Year (Award goes to Artist and Songwriter)
“Dearly Departed” – Shakey Graves; Written by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Esme’ Patterson
“East Side Of Town” – Lucinda Williams; Written by Lucinda Williams
“Terms Of My Surrender” – John Hiatt; Written by John Hiatt
“Turtles All The Way Down” – Sturgill Simpson; Written by Sturgill Simpson
“You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had” – Steve Earle & the Dukes; Written by Steve Earle

More from Americana Music | Site | Facebook | Twitter
Conference Pass | Music Pass

Have your say